Blog Tour Review: Loveboat, Taipei, Abigail Hing Wen (+ INTL giveaway)

There are no spoilers in this review.

Loveboat, Taipei is exactly the kind of contemporary I love. With its sweet looking exterior, it had a hint of rebellion, sweet and complicated first loves, complex families ties and expectations. Loveboat, Taipei is a wonderful diverse debut about finding yourself and your own path, outside of the ones parents have already made for you.

A million thanks to Karina @ Afire Pages, as well as Harper Collins International, for putting together the Loveboat, Taipei blog tour and for giving me a little spot in it, as well as for sending me an e-ARC through Edelweiss. This did not, in any way, influence my thoughts and rating.

A STORY ABOUT FAMILY EXPECTATIONS AND PRESSURE

☂️

In Loveboat, Taipei, we follow Ever, child of immigrants parents living in Ohio, as her parents send her to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer. Having always lived in the States, not knowing a whole lot besides a couple words of Mandarin and expecting to have the summer to dance instead of being shipped away halfway across the world, Ever is definitely not ready for the summer that’s to come, and you know what? Neither was I.

As I read the synopsis and headed into Loveboat, Taipei, I expected something soft and sweet and I got so much more than that. Slowly, we get to know Ever, her passion for dancing, her deep need to step away from her parents’ path, her need to break these rules, this cocoon they had made up for her ever since they gave up their own dreams, to give their children a better future by immigrating to America. Loveboat, Taipei gave us a much needed diverse story about family’s expectations, finding your own way and your own self, redefining yourself and what you really want to be.

A DIVERSE CAST OF CHARACTERS WITH COMPLEX, REAL RELATIONSHIPS

☂️

Ever carried the story, right from the beginning and I loved seeing her grow as the story went on, getting, slowly but surely, out of this set path to find her own self. She made mistakes, she didn’t think straight, she sometimes annoyed me, she sometimes made me feel happy and soft. Ever felt real in every way and, right from the start, I found myself rooting for her and wanting her to find her own path and, most of it all, to really find her way to happiness, too.

We found her surrounded by a wonderful cast of characters just as well, most of them struggling with their own issues, parental and family’s expectations to mental health to stereotypes and more. All of these played their own role and shaped both the story and the relationship between the characters, from the friendships to the romances. Most of it all, all the complex relationships the story created felt real. Messy and complicated, simple and funny, endearing and frustrating… most of it all, I was into this story, dealing with teenagers and complex emotions and this was, this is, exactly what I’m looking for in these kind of contemporaries.

I loved the place that friendship took in this story. The quickly growing friendship between Sophie and Ever, despite their differences, made me really happy to see and I appreciated seeing just how complex their friendship ended up being, how challenging and messy it was, at times, just as well.

I expected romance in Loveboat, Taipei and I got a romance I rooted for, from page one. The messy feelings of first love, of first encounters and lust were there, the slow development between some characters and the quickness of fleeting feelings for some others. Fair warning that there is a tiny bit of a love triangle in this book. That being said, if the love triangle is not my favorite trope, at all, I didn’t really mind it there, because… in a way, I could understand it. I could see it unfold, I could see the ropes, the feelings building up until they get all tangled up and messy, making this trope I’m not necessarily the biggest fan of, kind of real.

OVERALL

☂️

Drama, heartbreak and first loves, friendships and complicated family relationships, Loveboat, Taipei has it all and somehow, manages to juggle with it all fantastically, too. This is a stunning, highly entertaining read with a main character I really grew to love and I would 200% recommend you add it to your TBRs, right away.

Final rating: 4 drops!

Trigger warnings: drinking, talking about depression, slut-shaming, emotional abuse.
Diversity: An almost full diverse cast of East Asian characters. The main character is Taiwanese American, another main character is from Korea. Side characters with dyslexia.

About Loveboat, Taipei, Abigail Hing Wen

Abigail Hing Wen, Loveboat, Taipei, Publishing on January 7th, 2020 by HarperTeen.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5Purchase links: AmazonBarnes & NobleIndieBoundTargetBook Depository

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as “an intense rush of rebellion and romance” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber, this romantic and layered Own Voices debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a dazzling, fun-filled romp.

“Our cousins have done this program,” Sophie whispers. “Best kept secret. Zero supervision.”

And just like that, Ever Wong’s summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.
But not every student is quite what they seem:
Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance.
Rick Woo is the Yale-bound child prodigy bane of Ever’s existence whose perfection hides a secret.
Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.
And under sexy Xavier Yeh’s shell is buried a shameful truth he’ll never admit.
When these students’ lives collide, it’s guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

About the author, Abigail Hing Wen

Abigail Hing Wen is a Silicon Valley venture lawyer working with AI startups. She is a Vermont College of Fine Arts graduate, Wild Things blogger, and YA writer of her debut, Loveboat, Taipei.

Find her on: WebsiteTwitter 

Loveboat, Taipei – Full Blog Tour Schedule:clicktoreveal.

December 16

Afire Pages | Author Fancast

 

December 17

Artsy Draft | Lockscreen/Wallpaper

Sometimes Leelynn Reads

Lori’s Bookshelf Reads 

Magical Reads | Playlist

Book Beat at Mike the Fanboy | Beginners’ Guide to Loveboat

 

December 18

Infinite Golden Floors

Lyrical Reads | Moodboards

Kaitlyn Gosiaco

Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner | Moodboard

Fanna Wants the World to Read | Why Fans of Crazy, Rich Asians and La La Land Will Love Loveboat, Taipei

 

December 19

Caitlin Althea

Shut Up, Shealea

And Once Upon

if the book will be too difficult

Bookathon | Loveboat Book Tag

 

December 20

Read By Tiffany

Drizzle & Hurricane Books | Moodboards

Pages and Coffee Cups

Happily, Hedy

Utopia State of Mind | Hand Lettering

Enter to win a copy of Loveboat, Taipei : click right here !
This giveaway is open internationally and sponsored by HarperCollins International.
The giveaway ends on January 16, 2020.

Did you read Loveboat, Taipei? Do you want to?

What was the latest book you’ve read that you enjoyed? I’d love to hear from you in comments!

 

 

 

 

Twitter ☂️ Goodreads ☂️ Bloglovin ‘☂️ Support the blog

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. 📚 |🌍 | 💞 Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

24 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: Loveboat, Taipei, Abigail Hing Wen (+ INTL giveaway)

  1. Ahhh Marie!! Reading your review made me so happy, and my heart is so full that you enjoyed it. 💖 I completely agree with so much that you said!! Ever wasn’t a perfect main character, and she definitely made good and bad choices here and there but I couldn’t help but root for her in the end all the same. There was so much covered in this book from family expectations to the realistic and messy friendships. I also am always skeptical about love triangles, but I couldn’t help but be super invested in this one. I honestly was torn between the two! Did you side any particular way throughout the story??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh, I’m happy you enjoyed it, thank you so much! ❤
      Agree! She wasn't perfect, but she was human and I just wanted the best for her, too ❤
      YES. I did side one way, right from the start and until the very end, actually… I'm a Rick girl hahaha. ❤ What about you? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I very much loved the premise of this one. It was girls gone wild once Ever was free of her parents. Some of the things she did made me cringe, but I was glad she grew from all the experiences, good and bad. The romance drove me batty, and I found myself really liking both boys, so it was hard for me. I did think the ending was great, and loved that everything that happened brought Ever closer to her parents.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’m happy you enjoyed this book as well and I agree – if sometimes what Ever did was a bit… frustrating, I still could understand how this happened and I couldn’t help but root for her, too ❤ Such a great read! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent review! You have confirmed that this is a book I’m going to enjoy. I’m extremely curious about the love triangle as I’m not a fan–maybe I will see it as you did. Happy holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful review, Marie!!! I haven’t read this one yet, but I love how it focuses on a wide cast of various Asian characters, each dealing with their own complex family dynamics and struggles! The friendships in this one sound so invigorating and multi-dimensional! I’m so curious and excited to read this one and can’t wait to get to it (hopefully sooner rather than later! Haha!). ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.