Waiting on Wednesday (38) : Tell Me Three Things, Julie Buxmaum

Originally coming from the Breaking The Spine blog, Waiting on Wednesday allows me to talk about a book I just can’t wait to get my hands on !

Don’t forget to tell me about the book you’re eager to read, this week, in comments!

Tell Me Three Things, Julie Buxmaum
Expected publication : April 15th 2016
Publisher :  Delacorte Press

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

First of all : NO, I did not pick this book because there are waffles on the cover. I love waffles, and I’m kind of craving those when I look at the cover, yes, but that’s not the point. (Or, is it? Anyways, moving on to the book!) I love when stories are dealing with moving away from home, from everything you’ve known. It’s a scary experience at first, and I like when characters are going through this same thing than I did – still do. And, emails with a strange person helping her? This little twist of mystery will certainly make this contemporary novel interesting, I think.

Would you like to read Tell Me Three Things? Why, or why not? Share your thoughts in comments!💬

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. 📚 |🌍 | 💞 Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

6 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (38) : Tell Me Three Things, Julie Buxmaum

  1. Ooooo wow, what an interesting premise! It might sound a bit morbid but I really like YA books that explore grief or feeling lost in life – I think that’s something a lot of people don’t want to talk about but we have to! More so, it looks like other genres and themes are blended in, which sounds like something I’d love to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I gotta be honest here though, those waffles are definitely making me hungry right now. And that PREMISE. I love it! I also love books that deal with stuff like this. Moving away, navigating a new and unusual territory in life, grief and loss. I’m excited for this one too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s