If you like this TV show, you’ll love this YA book!

Hi friends! So… you know when you have an idea that just won’t let go? An idea that will take you ages to put together, but you’re so damn stubborn that you won’t let it go?

That’s me with this blog post, so I really hope you love it.

I watch TV shows.. but I’m not necessarily up-to-date with all of the TV shows everyone watches. Game of Thrones, not for me, never watched it (I know. You can gasp for a second, I’ll allow it). I’m kind of a fan of “old” TV shows, things I used to watch years ago and love to re-watch every now and then, just as well. So this blog post will be filled with these kind of shows that are not necessarily today’s hottest, but let me tell you, were yesterday’s hottest shows and I still love them all.

Let’s get on with my recommendations, shall we?

IF YOU LIKE DAWSON’S CREEK, YOU SHOULD READ OUR YEAR OF MAYBE β˜‚οΈ I’ve been re-watching Dawson’s Creek because it’s THE TV show of my early teenage years (I feel so old). Intense childhood friendships and its complications as they all grow up, their feelings change and life gets messy…. I feel like Our Year of Maybe is a perfect recommendation here: it also deals with a childhood, all -consuming friendship, has all the emotions and complexities of growing up and IT IS A BOOK YOU ALL SHOULD READ.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

IF YOU LIKE DYNASTY, YOU SHOULD READ THE LUXE SERIES β˜‚οΈ Okay, so I’m going on with a more recent show I’m obsessed with, Dynasty. This show is about a, well, dynasy, an incredibly wealthy family and all of the messy things they do and I LOVE IT. I’m pairing this one with Luxe, the first book in a series I read ages ago, set in historical Manhattan, in rich families and filled with forbidden loves and backstabbing and hello here for the drama.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBR

IF YOU LIKE GILMORE GIRLS, YOU SHOULD READ IN SEARCH OF US β˜‚οΈ I love Gilmore Girls so, so much okay. I recently re-watched everything and I want to do so again, it’s such a comfort-kind of tv show. I’m pairing this one with In Search of Us, because they both have mother and daughter at their heart and I just love both of these A LOT okay.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

IF YOU LIKE GOSSIP GIRL, YOU SHOULD READ THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR β˜‚οΈ Okay, so.. you all know by now that I’m trash for all of the drama and both of these have just, LOADS of it all. That’s it, that’s my recommendation.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBR

IF YOU LIKE JANE THE VIRGIN, YOU SHOULD READ DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS β˜‚οΈ Don’t Date Rosa Santos has been marketed as “For Jane The Virgin fans” and I think that was done right. Both the book and the show has these strong family vibes, these fierceless, determined women, Rosa reminds me of Jane and my love for her so much and… it’s both comforting and dealing with intense topics, too. I adore them both.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBR

IF YOU LIKE KYLE XY, YOU SHOULD READ UNREMEMBERED β˜‚οΈ Okay so at the moment, I can’t really find any perfect recommendation other than this one. I’m forever and ever frustrated that Kyle XY, this show with a teenager waking up in the forest with no memory whatsoever and… no belly button, HAS BEEN SHUT DOWN SO SUDDENLY. It was such a good show. I cried a lot. Unremembered would be a perfect fit, too, because this story about a girl waking up unharmed from a plane crash and with no memory is also filled with mystery and feelings.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBR

IF YOU LIKE THE GOOD PLACE, YOU SHOULD READ LAYOVERLAND β˜‚οΈ Totally cheating here, because Layoverland should be added to your TBR: it releases in 2020, but I AM HYPED and this is the perfect recommendation. In Layoverland, the main character finds herself in purgatory and has to help souls moving on from their lives, basically. This gives me all of The Good Place vibes and sounds equally as fun and hopefully as great as The Good Place is.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBR

IF YOU LIKE THE OC, YOU SHOULD READ IF I’M BEING HONEST β˜‚οΈ Give me ALL the Californian vibes here, friends. The OC is one of my favorite shows ever and If I’m Being Honest is one of my favorite books ever, so.. this is a perfect pairing. You get the Californian setting in both, the badass main characters and complex relationships and the hupped high school and I love it all.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

IF YOU LIKE THE ROYALS, YOU SHOULD READ AMERICAN ROYALS β˜‚οΈ Look at these two royals together, don’t they look incredible. THEY ARE INCREDIBLE READ AND WATCH BOTH. Okay. I’ll calm down, but… these both have royalty, all the drama you can dream of and I’m just a big, big fan okay.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

IF YOU LIKE VERONICA MARS, YOU SHOULD READ THE ACCIDENTAL BAD GIRL β˜‚οΈ Another perfect pairing here, if you ask me. Veronica Mars is a great show (haven’t seen the recent episodes, though) with all of the intrigue and thrilling action, while also having Veronica’s sassy incredible personality making it shine. In The Accidental Bad Girl, you find the same kind of takes-no-bullshit character and a mystery and it gave me all the Veronica Mars vibes.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

IF YOU LIKE YOUNGER, YOU SHOULD READ THE UNDOING OF THISTLE TATE β˜‚οΈ Okay so.. this one might seem far-fetched, but hear me out. Younger is a show set in the publishing world, starting out with the main character lying about her age. Thistle Tate is a book about a best selling author lying about her writing, so…. this kind of fits, don’t you think? I also really really enjoyed both, A LOT.

πŸ“š add to your goodreads TBRπŸ“– read my full review

Do you agree with my recommendations? Did you watch any of these shows, or read any of these books?

Did you enjoy this kind of recommendations post and would you like more posts like this one? I’d love to hear from you in comments!

 

 

 

 

Twitter β˜‚οΈ Goodreads β˜‚οΈ Bloglovinβ˜‚οΈ Support the blog

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. πŸ“š |🌍 | πŸ’ž Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

98 thoughts on “If you like this TV show, you’ll love this YA book!

  1. OOOh I HAVE ONE! If you like BBC’s Sherlock, you might like The Hound of Baskervilles.
    Seriously though, I had to do an analytic essay on it and IT WAS SO GOOD. (the book) (though the essay was great too- just being honest)

    I would LOVE more posts like this! They’re so fun (and I enjoyed trying to line up my sparse knowledge of the TV shows with the books)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH! I love this!! I love the book-a-like sort of rec posts so this is aaamaazing and I love your graphics 😍The only one, I confess, that I’ve seen is The Good Place! But I have Thistle Tate on my TBR so maybe I’ll check out that corresponding show too?!

    Ok I’d say if you like Stranger Things…try Miss Peregrine’s!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohmygosh I love how much effort you put into this!! Unfortunately I’ve never really gotten hooked on TV shows so although I recognise most of these, I’ve only watched Gossip Girl & a few eps of The Good Place πŸ˜‚ Will still be checking out your book recommendations though so they won’t go to waste! 😍

    πŸ’› Ngoc

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this! I hope you do another one of these soon ❀

    Also, yes to The Royals and American Royals! I can't wait for that one to come out so I can read it. I'm glad you liked it so much ❀ And thank you for dealing with my dumbness when you clearly said the right show and I was like "I think we are talking about the same thing??" lol. You're the best, Marie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you so much, this makes me so happy ❀
      I really can't wait to hear what you think of American Royals, it's such a great read, I loved it so much πŸ˜€ and of course haha no worries!! ❀ ❀ ❀

      Like

  5. Oh I LOVE the idea for this post!! πŸ₯° I’m super bad with keeping up with Shows as well, so I have like onlly watched the first season of Gossip Girl, but Dynasty and The Royals are definitely on my to watch list πŸ˜„ I have some mixed feelings about The Thousandth Floor, but the recommendation is spot on, as it gives off so many Gossip Girl vibes!! Sometimes I do need some drama to entertain me as well πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh these are all such great recommendations! This is the first I’ve heard about Layoverland, but it sounds like the PERFECT book for fans of The Good Place (which I am definitely one). I haven’t watched many of these other shows (I’m not the biggest TV watcher most of the time – I also haven’t watched Game of Thrones lol), but these all seem like spot-on matches!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh thank you Angela, you’re so sweet! You should give it a try, they’re so much fun to make… even if they take a bit of time. I hope you’ll find the inspiration to, someday πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. The Undoing of Thistle Tate is on my TBR; it’s all just down to when I get around to buying it–that’s pretty much the case with the 113 books in my Want to Read category :’) Seeing American Royals again is drawing me more to it πŸ˜‰ I definitely want to look into Don’t Date Rosa Santos because I absolutely adored JTV!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhh I hope you’ll get to these books, Macey, they are all so good and if you adored Jane, I think you could love Don’t Date Rosa Santos it’s such an incredible read πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much!! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post, Marie! I didn’t start watching Kyle XY until right before it was cancelledβ€”it was so upsetting 😭. Just added Unremembered to my TBR! I also need to catch up on the latest season of The Good Place, but at least I’ll get a chance to do that berfore Layover Land is released 😁. These β€œif you like_, then read _” posts are always so fun to read πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you, Belle! I AM SO HAPPY YOU WATCHED Kyle XY as well, that ending was the most frustrating EVER haha. I hope you’ll like Unremembered πŸ™‚
      And yes yes, you have to watch The Good Place, that last season…. broke me haha. ❀
      Thank you so, so much! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. omggg The OC was my ENTIRE life back in the day. I loved that messy show SO MUCH. I definitely need to rewatch it. The cover for If I’m Being Honest is so aesthetically pleasing too. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it or not, but I think I’m going to add it to my TBR along with Layoverland (because I love The Good Place more than anything). Brilliant post, Marie 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great post! I love Gilmore Girls, I’m in the middle of a re-watch myself. It’s such a feel good show. I’m interested to check out β€˜In Search of Us’. I’d never heard of it but my last few reads have been high fantasy (epic but full on) so I’m looking for a feel good light read.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I LOVE this!! ❀ The recommendations are so good and I can't wait to read the books linked to my favorite shows. The Undoing of Thistle Tate and If I'm Being Honest are definitely the first ones I want to read now, because I looove the OC and Younger!
    This is such a great idea for a post, and you did it well too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You know, when I read this post’s title, I thought that there wouldn’t be any TV show in the lists that I have watched, but I am surprised haha. Gilmore Girls is a favorite. I finished Gossip Girls last year only. I am yet to watch the latest season of Jane the Virgin because it is still not available on Netflix India (I hate how they don’t keep the shows consistent in each country). BUT I haven’t read any of the books that you have mentioned 😦 I really need to correct that. Also hoping to watch some more shows from this list πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaaaah I’m so happy this was a great surprise for you and YAY for watching the same shows, this makes me so happy ❀
      I hope you will be able to watch the latest season of Jane soon. I loved it. ALL the emotions haha ❀
      Can't wait for you to give some of these books a try πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. I love The Good Place so much. That last season gave me all the feels and ahh I can’t wait to see what happens next πŸ™‚
      I hope you’ll find books you’ll love there, Gianna, and thank you πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  13. What a fun post! Love the idea. I’m also really happy to see someone else has read The Accidental Bad Girl! I really enjoyed that one. So now I’m thinking I need to watch Veronica Mars..

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Layover Land sounds so good, I want to add it to my tbr right now! Even though I’ve only watched five episodes of the Good PLace, any book remotely like it has my attention.
    And Reluctant Royals, why haven’t I read it yet??? Also, someone else who’s watched Royals?? (Why is that show so addicting, also i have a giant crush on ALL the people in that show 😍)

    Like

    1. AHH it sounds so great, I’m so happy I could make your TBR grow. I hope you’ll watch more of The Good Place, it’s such a great show, one of the best πŸ™‚
      I am obsessed with The Royals ah it’s such a great show and every character is so great ❀
      Thank you so much Elizabeth ❀

      Like

  15. I have similar posts that I’m adding to over time. XD I love lots of your suggestions and have added a few books to my TBR! I didn’t like a lot of the shows, but I’m so glad some had book pairings because some shows I haven’t the patience for and want to just…read, haha.

    Like

  16. Ooh, this is such a lovely post!! I personally don’t watch many TV shows, but many of these have been on my “you-must-watch-some-day-if-you-want-to-be-a-functioning-member-of-society” list. Hahaha! I’m currently reading Don’t Date Rosa Santos, and am loving it! Looks like I’ll have to watch Jane the Virgin at some point. ❀

    Like

  17. I’m currently working on a blog post that’ll take me ages to put together myself, and though I’m not nearly done, I know that I’ll be so proud of the outcome! I’m so happy that this post came together so well!

    You matched these books and tv shows so perfectly! I love that you usually recommend books I’ve never heard of or read in your posts. You also recommended a lot of shows i didn’t know of but really want to watch now! The post I have heard of, you’ve reminded me that I desperately need to watch :”) Dawnson’s Creek, The Good Place, Jane the Virgin and Gilmore Girls all sound phenomenal, but I just have no time to watch tv shows right now :((

    AMAZING post, Marie!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The posts we end up being the most proud of are the ones we were really really bothered and obstinated on hahaha πŸ™‚
      Thank you so, so much Caitlin, this makes me so happy to hear you find out new books thanks to these posts, thank you!! ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  18. THIS IS SUCH A GREAT IDEA!!! and it’s also brilliant bc the fact that i don’t watch tv shows or movies all that much basically means i can use these recommendations backwards lol it still works

    OKAY THE COMPARISON BETWEEN GILMORE GIRLS AND IN SEARCH OF US, im going to have to read that book as soon as possible. gilmore girls is the only show that i’ve (partially) watched but still the short episodes and clips ive seen just captured my heart and there’s no going back. i’ve heard a lot about jane the virgin and the themes you mentioned make it sound really interesting. great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’m not really familiar with any of these except Gossip Girl and The Thousandth Floor, but I wholeheartedly agree with this one; it’s on The Thousandth Floor cover, and for good reason. I love this post idea, maybe I’ll do it with tv shows I watch sometime? We definitely have completely different tastes haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Omg, so many of these TV shows are such throwbacks and I love it!! The OC, Kyle XY, and Gilmore Girls 😍😍 I also love The Good Place (I just finished watching season 3 yesterday because I am by nature a binger and cannot keep up with things as they go πŸ˜…), and Layoverland sounds like it’s the perfect fit!

    This was such a great recommendation list, I’d love to see more like posts like these!! πŸ’•πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  21. WOO! I love this and some of these are SO, SO, SO on point. (I mean, all of these are on point but like there are some I haven’t watched or read and without that PHD I’m not at all qualified to say so I’m just going to nod my head instead because I trust your judgment.)

    I think about all the ties between Gossip Girl and The Thousandth Floor A LOT. Probably more than I should???? BUT IT’S FINE, WE’RE GOOD, IT’S COOL. McGee’s writing reminds me SO MUCH of a more polished, futuristic version of Cecily von Ziegesar’s (the author of the Gossip Girl books) and I’m always shouting at fans of either the books or the show to read the trilogy IMMEDIATELY. So I’m definitely looking like an excited dope right now but like XOXO or whatever.

    ANYWAYS. I love Dawson’s Creek, Dynasty and Gilmore Girl’s so I am definitely taking notes on these recs. I tried to read the Luxe series once a few years back (I found the original covers in hardcover at a thriftstore for like… $3 USD which felt like theft but the fun kind) but I think my mood was just not in it so I’m going to have to pick it up again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m just SO HAPPY you love the Thousandth Floor series ahhhh. i need to read the last book, but I’m a huge fan and it reminds me of the Gossip Girl books so much as well and I’m always here for that kind of drama πŸ˜€
      I hope you’ll give these other books a try and hopefully that you will love them! I’m so happy you enjoyed my recommendations, thank you so much ❀ ❀

      Like

  22. I’ve only seen one of these shows somehow… and that was only this year. I finally started watching Gossip Girl when I was ill at the start of the year and ended up addicted to it. I totally agree with your pairing for it too – The Thousandth Floor feels like a slightly futuristic version of it to me. I have seen the odd episode of Gilmore Girls but always put off watching the whole thing due to its length. Several of these shows and books are ones I really want to read & watch though. And I’d love more posts like, I always love reading these kinds of recommendations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.