Mini reviews: I Wanna Be Where You Are, Going Off-Script

Hi friends, happy Friday! I hope you’ve all been doing well!

I’m back today with mini reviews for two books I’ve read lately and… well, I loved them both so, so very much, so be ready for a lot of happy feels in this post!

Also hello no I don’t know how to write less, sorry these are mini-medium reviews. Oops.

There are no spoilers in these reviews.

A million thanks to MacMillan International, Roaring Book Press and Swoon Reads for sending me free ARCs of these books. This did not, in any way, influence my thoughts and ratings.

I Wanna Be Where You Are, Kristina Forestgoodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Read the full synopsis ▼

When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe’s mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe’s chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast―two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.
Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.

I Wanna Be Where You Are was one of my most anticipated debuts and… it didn’t disappoint, at all. This is the kind of adorable book you devour in one sitting and that makes you smile, care for the characters and stare at your copy of the book lovingly afterwards. I loved it so much.

Our main character Chloe is fighting to chase her dreams of becoming a ballerina and, despite it all, despite her fear of failing, of doing the wrong thing, of going against her mother’s wishes, she fights and cares with a fierceness that makes me want to hug her and do my best, too. Alongside Eli, her unlikely neighbor/childhood friend/adorable, swoon worthy love interest, they get in a car, towards adventure, re-discovering each other and fightining for their own dreams, too, both of them.

Their individual growth and the growth of their feelings, from getting over the past and re-discovering each other made my heart bust with happiness and fluff. We also get a great, badass sister on Eli’s side, complex, interesting family relationships on both Eli and Chloe’s side, both things I adored. Also, this book has the asking for consent before kissing someone that makes me just, heart eyes all over again.

This is the diverse romcom we’ve all been dreaming of and I’m definitely recommending this to everyone.

💬 To know more about I Wanna Be Where You Are and the fantastic author behind it, read my author interview!

Final rating: 4,5 drops!

Trigger warnings: broken ankle (not narrated, but thought of a lot. This was a little triggering for me so I thought I’d mention it), loss of a parent (not narrated), car accident.

Diversity: POC main characters (Chloe & Eli) and side-characters as well. Queer side character (Trey, gay)

Going Off-Script, Jen Wildegoodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Read the full synopsis ▼

Seventeen-year-old Bex is thrilled when she gets an internship on her favorite tv show, Silver Falls. Unfortunately, the internship isn’t quite what she expected… instead of sitting in a crowded writer’s room volleying ideas back and forth, Production Interns are stuck picking up the coffee.

Determined to prove her worth as a writer, Bex drafts her own script and shares it with the head writer―who promptly reworks it and passes it off as his own! Bex is understandably furious, yet…maybe this is just how the industry works? But when they rewrite her proudly lesbian character as straight, that’s the last straw! It’s time for Bex and her crush to fight back.

Jen Wilde’s newest novel is both a fun, diverse love story and a very relevant, modern take on the portrayal of LGBT characters in media.

Jen Wilde has been, slowly but surely, making her way into my favorite author’s shelves and, with Going Off-Script, she ones again blows me away and makes me want to scream, to fight, to get up and give this book to everyone I know because it’s just, that good.

Jen Wilde writes the most wonderful, inclusive and diverse books and Going Off-Script is no exception. Filled with an incredible cast of queer characters, POC characters and more that I adored, Going Off-Script made me so, so very happy for that, but not only. Our main character Bex was my favorite. She’s anxious, she’s having a hard time trusting herself at first, yet she transforms into this badass, fighting for what’s right kind of character and I rooted for her right from the very beginning.

The relationships between the characters warmed my heart so, so much. From Bex and her relationship with her cousin Parker to her growing romance with Shrupty that made me swoon, to her mentor relationship to Jane, I loved them all so much. The Hollywood, tv show setting, the manipulations, complications and power inbalance between men and women in the industry, as well as the importance of representation in these media were all topics that I loved exploring in this book, too.

OverallI just want to scream about how much I loved Going Off-Script and how it’s so, so, so, so, so good. In an entertaining, quick read, the author manages to talk about so many important topics, figuring yourself out, coming out, following your dreams and fighting for what’s right and I loved it all.

Final rating: 4,5 drops!

Trigger warnings: mentions of bullying, homophobia (challenged)

Diversity: Queer main characters and side characters, Black and Queer side characters (Alyssa), POC side character (Dante), POC & Gay main character (Shrupty, she is indian), questionning of gender identity for the main character, normalisation of medication (the main character takes Lexapro & Ritalin)

Other books by Jen Wilde I’ve reviewed:

Did you read I Wanna Be Where You Are or/and Going Off-Script? Do you want to?

What are some of the latest diverse ya books you’ve read that you would recommend? I’d love to hear from you in comments!

 

 

 

 

Twitter ☂️ Goodreads ☂️ Bloglovin ‘☂️ Support the blog

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. 📚 |🌍 | 💞 Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

45 thoughts on “Mini reviews: I Wanna Be Where You Are, Going Off-Script

  1. These both sounds so lovely! And, honestly, exactly what I need right now. Any story about childhood friends finding romance just makes me SWOON. I don’t know why, but that trope always hits me right in the feels.

    I’m intrigued by Going Off Script too! It sounds like a really timely read. And anxious girl finding her voice is a story I always love, being an anxious girl myself trying to do just that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhhh. I hope you’ll give these two books a try, they were so good, I really loved them both SO much ❤
      And yes, ahh the childhood friends always have my heart ❤

      Like

  2. Ahh.. these book sound really good and I’m so glad to hear that you loved them. I like that they both include a character that you are rooting for and encouraging you to chase after your dreams because I feel like for all need a little reminder to do that sometimes!!
    And ‘I Wanna Be Where You Are; has such a beautiful cover as well!!
    I might have to check both these books out. Wonderful reviews Marie!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I keep hearing great things about Jen Wilde’s books and I have yet to read one! I should change that! I have seen the cover for Going Off Script a few times, but I don’t think that I have stopped to look at what it is about. What a fantastic sounding book! I am here for inclusive contemporaries. I will definitely make sure it is on my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh this makes me so, so happy to hear ❤ I hope you'll get to Going Off Script and all of her other books at some point and will love them 🙂
      Thank you!! ❤

      Like

  4. Going Off Script is high on my Summer TBR list (along with The Brightsiders which I still need to read) and I can’t wait because I love Jen Wilde’s books. I’ve only seen one other review for Going Off Script but between that one and your mini-review in this post Marie I can’t wait to read it. Jen Wilde really does write incredibly diverse books, Queens of Geek is so special to me because of the representation in it, and I’m so glad to hear the representation is just as amazing in Going Off Script. 🙂
    These both sound like amazing books, I may have to check out I Wanna Be Where You Are as well after reading your mini-review. 😀
    Great post Marie. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh yay! I’m so impatient for you to read more of Wilde’s books, they’re all fantastic!
      I hope you’ll give Kristina Forest’ debut a try just as well, it was such a lovely read and it’d be a perfect summer read,too 🙂
      Thank you so much Beth ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh I’m loving these mini reviews, Marie! Both of these books sound so cool in their own way and I can’t wait to check them out 🙂
    I like that Going Off-Script is about an anxious girl who learns to conquer her fears and fight for what she wants – a badass heroine if I ever saw one!
    I Wanna Be Where You Are has a similar concept so I’m also looking forward to exploring it further.
    Amazing post, lovely! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.